Skip to content
May 15, 2013 / mrsdeboots

DIY Narwhal-aka was I the only one that got Zoobooks?

I do not remember how this came up. I have tried to recall how 3 women got on the subject of the narwhal. This is sad, as I know it was me that brought it up.

because no one knew, besides me, what a narwhal was.

I guess I was a luckier kid than I imagined. My mom taught elementary school, and reading was heavily encouraged, even my alcoholic father read as heavily as he drank. And that’s saying A LOT. The man was basically a walking keg.

Anyway, besides Hilights magazine, i also had an established subscription to Zoobooks magazine, a colorful and educational magazine about, duh, animals. This is where I learned of the creepy narwhal.

As many little girls were, unicorns were an obsession, and the grody photographs of the veiny and greasy looking tusk of the monodon Monoceros was alarming and made quite an impression.

So to find that 3 women didn’t know what a narwhal was, then to find that one more, an MD at that, didn’t know what one was..blew my overstuffed brain.

So as the inevitable google search began, we found multiple cartoons and etsy type narwhal products. Which only proves me opinion that artists are nothing if not nerds. Because they, like myself, are painfully aware of narwhals.

Art!

Stephanie, my pal, found this guy on google, and decided it was a perfect project. In fact, she publicly charged me with the mission on Instagram.

20130515-071220.jpg

So began my thrift store and/or yard sale search for a dolphin or whale. Which I luckily found Monday.

20130515-071344.jpg

step 1. Remove dorsal fin. Cut off, tuck in to run with existing seam. Stitch closed.

20130515-071510.jpg

step 2. Remove snout thing. Repeat step 1.

20130515-071612.jpg

step 3. Cut mustache shape from black fabric. Tack on.

Myself, I placed incorrectly, so I had to remove. You can skip this step if you like, or repeat it exactly, if you enjoy wasting time.

20130515-071741.jpg

step 4. Make a horn/tusk from fabric you like. Make a skinny triangle shape, flip inside out, stuff with whatever. I had quilting, so that’s what I used, but you can really stuff it with whatever. I wouldn’t recommend like, old used Kleenex, but if that’s your thing, go for it.

20130515-071958.jpg

step 5. Run a basic linear type stitch around in a swirl fashion. I was gonna bead it, but I ended up not liking the beads, so I took them off.

20130515-072138.jpg

step 6. Sew on nose and mustache. Find discarded jewelry to fashion monocle out of.

20130515-072303.jpg

And just like that, you have a sophisticated and/or hipster narwhal.

And you make your pals day.

20130515-084904.jpg

20130515-085023.jpg

20130515-085031.jpg

20130515-085037.jpg

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. narwhal pictures color / Jul 18 2013 2:59 pm

    Nice weblog here! Also your site rather a lot up very
    fast! What web host are you using? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink to your host?
    I want my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  2. TrinityW / Nov 1 2013 2:33 pm

    Just came across this cute post. Love the Narwhal. So agree with you about the cool info in Zoobooks. Did you know they are still being published? Classic magazine with beautiful photos and great information.

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

