Skip to content
March 3, 2013 / mrsdeboots

Drugs & spray paint

After doing a study at UNC for 6 months on PMDD (Pms on steroids) I was given monetary compensation and an rx for a low dose SSRI to take for the 7 day “danger zone” called citolapram. It was explained to me that a common depressive dose is 30-60 mg daily, while mine would be 5mg.

Ahh. I have to admit, it helped immensely. No mood swings, of mine were usually homicidal anger/rage, no 45 minute crying spells in the kitchen/shower/lowes home improvement, no intense blinding migraine. Just a general sleepy apathetic feeling. Which is very enjoyable.

One thing it did not curb was my enthusiasm for sugar. On a normal day, I love sugar. It’s pretty much my diet.

20130303-102125.jpg

But last night we had a little shindig at the house, and even though Shane made me this delicious lobster tail

20130303-103026.jpg

I made myself eat 4 and a half Persian cinnamon rolls from Walmart.

20130303-103116.jpg

With a cinnamon bun in one hand and a can of plastic spray paint primer in the other, I once again looked like a crazy person on my back porch

20130303-103223.jpg

I had to reprint Mr Peanut Butter cups again, as I just cannot figure out what awesomeness he deserves. I think I’m gonna do a Noh theater mask, because Japan didn’t have facial tattooing as I had done on him before, nor did acupuncture originate there so damn.

I also picked up some missing eared beauties and some toy soldiers and dinosaurs from the free bin at the Durham mission thrift store

20130303-103603.jpg

20130303-103609.jpg

20130303-103614.jpg

20130303-103625.jpg

I’m going to make new ears out of sculpted and attach them on and go to town!

Cause I feel great!! Thanks drugs!!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brandy Desiree Collins / Mar 4 2013 3:44 am

    I take 60mg of Citalopram (Celexa) and have done so for almost two years.

    I have PMDD, and find this drug completely inconsequential in alleviating the symptoms.

    I mean, I guess I’d call it 50% worth a damn. I haven’t killed anyone since I began taking it. 🙂

    Eat those cinnamon rolls mama! A woman after my own heart. You live once. 🙂

    Sugar pacifies the mania momentarily. If I had to choose between meds or desserts, I’d choose the hot fudge sundae every time.

    Since I can’t choose, I have both. Every time. 🙂

    Love ya!

    • mrsdeboots / Mar 4 2013 11:35 am

      I’m trying to be really cognisant of it, and not think of it as a miracle drug, I honestly didn’t think it would do jack crap, but as I am a completely different person when I go thru the Pmdd crap, like I am a maniac, constantly irrationally livid and/or bawling.. It has really made a huge difference. Great example..checked the mail Saturday. Received a lovely note from the IRS saying I’ve been audited and owe what amounts to 2 1/2 weeks of my paycheck because of some 1040s my husband didn’t think to give me. Normally, not only would I have completely flipped shit, I would’ve had his head on a stick. I still don’t feel phased by it. So mentally, I find it helpful. For now. I still have another 5 days of pure hateful to fight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

