Skip to content
February 5, 2013 / mrsdeboots

More yo gabba gabba DIY!

So after bitching quite a bit, I shared my yo gabba gabba fluff balls.

20130205-064744.jpg

I did manage to finish Brobee’s unibrowed cranky ass

20130205-064828.jpg

So I got home around 12:30 yesterday, put the birthday boy down for his quote unquote nap, and in approximately 1 hour, went thru a clusterfuck of rushing.

I had made some letters for a birthday banner, even as I swore I would do no more hand lettering.

I did not, apparently, photograph this process. I found this picture on good old google

20130205-065723.jpg

And decided to try and copy it while my cupcakes were cooking.

20130205-065812.jpg

20130205-065823.jpg

The card stock was black, so obviously I had to do several coats of acrylic, and for once was happy at how fast that crap dries.

As this was not an official party, but was his birthday, I wanted to do something special I hadn’t actually planned for, so at the last second I decided that I would make a muno cupcake cake. He’s 2, so perfection wasn’t completely necessary, and no one would see but B, Shane, and myself, so I figured, why not?

20130205-070120.jpg

Luckily for me, I have 1 cupcake pan and 1 muffin pan, so the different sizes were helpful, if entirely accidental.

20130205-070230.jpg

After using an entire large bottle of red food coloring in 1 regular
Sized container of icing, I got as close to muno’a shade as possible. I tried to fatten him up with more icing, and them smooth it out as much as possible.

20130205-070428.jpg

The icing at this point was almost in complete liquid form, so I stuck him in the fridge to stiffen up.

Then I went back to my sign.

20130205-070527.jpg

Then back to Muno.

Let me mention at this point, I heard an alarming thud, and upon entering the child’s room, found him running in and out of his closet. I informed him it was nap time and he needed to get himself in the bed pronto.

So Muno, if you aren’t familiar with Yo Gabba Gabba, is a large red phallic type creature covered in, with my dermatology knowledge, what I desirable as either small lipomas or neuromas. Or, since he is shaped like a penis, for fun, herpatic lesions.

This required making a large mess while I tried the old sandwich bag with a tiny hole technique, scooping neon red into the bag with my bare hand, which is still, right now, bright red.

20130205-071020.jpg

20130205-071028.jpg

To top off his penile appearance, he is a cyclops, so one again the sandwich bag tiny hole mess continues

.

20130205-071216.jpg

Club footed, yes, but as my last second ideas go, I felt this would pass for a 2 year old.

Finished up the sign, hot glueing on the letters and drawing on the little squiggly lines and whatnot that I can only hope represent curse words.

20130205-071419.jpg

Then Shane arrived back from the car repair, bringing with him the doom and gloom that can only be delivered from a mechanic, but our spirits weren’t dampened. We decorated a 2 year old sized area and var lar!

20130205-071615.jpg

20130205-071632.jpg

I got that Brobee doll from a thrift store for like, $2.99, and hid it as a centerpiece

20130205-071805.jpg

He was in approval of the Muno cake.

20130205-071900.jpg

Brobee wasn’t played with much, although B did keep making him drink out if that cup, making me wonder if perhaps his crabby disposition plus this excessive thirst was an underlying sign of in diagnosed diabetes.

20130205-072037.jpg

Did he love it? You tell me!

20130205-072106.jpg

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. homecreationseveryday / Feb 5 2013 5:47 pm

    Super Cute decor! How fun πŸ™‚

    • mrsdeboots / Feb 5 2013 6:12 pm

      Thank you! I was really happy at how well everything turned out and he was really excited too, and that made everything perfect for his big day.

  2. Teeny Bikini / Feb 7 2013 4:27 pm

    So so so so so cute. You are creative times 10. πŸ™‚

    • mrsdeboots / Feb 7 2013 6:02 pm

      Aww thanks!! I am honored πŸ™‚

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes / Mar 2 2013 12:29 pm

    Ha, ha – what bitching?? This is all TOO GORGEOUS! πŸ™‚

    You little ladies, and your cooking, truly have this ol’ Ma’am smile. Thank you πŸ™‚

  4. denise / Aug 2 2013 7:27 am

    how did u make the character puffies?

    • mrsdeboots / Aug 2 2013 6:33 pm

      Look up the DIY on tissue paper balls on you tube, it’s really easy just folding tissue paper basically. I do suggest I ironing the accordion fold though so it’s really crisp. Lowest setting of course. πŸ™‚

      Then just pick the colors of the characters, and draw their facial features on card stock and tape them on with double sided tape.

      Hope that helps!

  5. Amber / Mar 16 2014 8:03 pm

    So cute!! I’m doing a YGG theme for my youngest’s 1st birthday. I LOVE the little pom poms with the faces! Great job!

Trackbacks

  1. DIY: Birthday Ideas « homecreationseveryday

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

