Skip to content
January 11, 2013 / mrsdeboots

Baby present-mock up?

So Leah, who I mentioned before here, is having a baby very soon.

background info- skip if only in it for art
I wanted to make her something, and she mentioned needing some nursery decor stuff, so I told her to let me know colors, themes, etc, and I would come up with something.

The next week, she said she wanted something about travel.

“I know this sounds weird,” she said, “but we are doing the nursery in, like, a travel theme.”

“Ohhh,” says me, who enjoys the weird. “Like an Eiffel Tower lamp? Or maybe Big Ben?”

“Yeah,” says Leah, “and the colors we are using are weird too.. Yellow and gray? And maybe stars?”

“Sweet.” says me.

Now, mind you, this conversation took place in approximately..um..late July? So it’s not, as they say, gospel, but it’s the way I recall it.

Amazingly enough, I instantly came up with an idea. This never happens. Well, not never, but it’s fairly rare.

My original idea was 3 panels, old maps of like France, Italy, somewhere interesting..aka not the US. I’d print them very light, hardly legible, with some kind of travel quote. Leah had mentioned the Dr Suess book oh the places we’ll go but it didn’t work really well in a 3 line kind of situation.

We eventually changed stars to butterflies, pink was added to yellow, and the gray in the maps I felt was enough to represent the color.

the art!
So I’m going to try to put these photos in, them maybe I can get to a real computer and put them where they are supposed to go.

20130111-070054.jpg

Ok, so I took out my old funk and wag (imma call them that, can’t spell the second name) encyclopedias, and ripped out some maps. I was going to print some offline, but I like the feel of the old paper, as I am a dork. I colored some areas in, using the chosen colors of yellow and pink. I had both true pink and blush pink, so I used both.

20130111-070519.jpg

I then attempted to cut out butterfly shapes, failed miserably, and looked up an actual butterfly pattern, and cut it out by looking at it, as alas, Shane’s printer has no ink. It’s the white one, all the way to the right.

20130111-070732.jpg

The quote says:

Do not go where the path may lead,
Go instead where there is no path
And leave a trail

Which as many know, is a Ralph Waldo Emerson quote. I tried to express this thru the path of the butterflies, and I think it came out pretty well.

Making a mock up on the small scale, and not wanting to put a ton of work into hand lettering on a 3 x 5 card stock, I just printed the quote and taped it on where I would place it on the panels. The butterflies I taped on to make them have a lifted appearance, where on the actual one I will use that scrapbooking type foam core crap.

Close ups!

20130111-071038.jpg

20130111-071050.jpg

20130111-071058.jpg

So I gave this to Leah to take home and think about, see what changes she’d like. I suggested making the butterfly that represents her daughter a solid color, or leave plain, thus making it stand out more. I also pointed out the differences in the pinks, as pink was a last second add on, I didn’t want it to be too intense of a pink.

The thing I love about Leah, besides the fact that she’s like, the sweetest person ever, is that she has been honest with me from day 1 about the project. I hate when people won’t tell me what they don’t like, or what changes they want. The one thing I am not hypersensitive about is my art. I don’t get all butt hurt about it.

So hopefully I will get to start on the actual project Monday!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. KungFuGirl / Jan 17 2013 5:53 pm

    Clever! Love the Emerson quote. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Your work also put me in mind of the Robert Frost quote – “Two roads diverged in a wood, and I – I took the one less traveled .. ”

    And now I want to go create something. 🙂

    • mrsdeboots / Jan 17 2013 6:13 pm

      Yay! I’m glad you like!

      And I’m glad you want to create something. Which reminds me of a quote I just saw on Instagram.

      Be inspired. Be inspiring.

Trackbacks

  1. The butterfly effect- on my small joints « peepsew
  2. » The butterfly effect-on my small joints - PEEPSEW

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

