Skip to content
December 19, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Homemade Christmas- numero uno

image

This is a Christmas ornament I made for my pal Stephanie.  Stephanie works with me at our satellite office, so sadly, I only see her once a week.

Background:

I’ve been working with Stephanie for four years.  When we first started working together, I was uncertain about friendship possibilities, as she was friends with my other, somewhat hateful, coworker.  They spoke of things I had no interest in..nature things.  Redneck type things.  I went to high school with redneck girls, and they were notoriously annoying and back stabby.

Luckily, I got to know her, and we have a ridiculously large amount of similarities.  While she will never open my mind to country music or the joys of camping, we share an affinity for bookwormery (reading a large amount of books), ADD, dyslexia, hatred of horror films, of mouth breathing, and 8th grade boy type sense of humor.  I can never get my work done here, as I am always either telling her some story, or listening to one of hers.  She’s the best, and I love her to death.

With custom presents, I try to make things painfully specific.

Steph loves:
Cowboy type fashions..hat/boots
Snowmen
Dogs, most specifically great dames, or great Danes?
Smoking, most recently her ecig thingy
Wine

So here’s the process of the snowman ornament.  Oh, he’s sculpted out of Sculptey clay and Fimo (sp?)

image

In the bowl to cook, with his top hat off to the side. I thought about the cowboy hat right as he was about to go into the oven.

image

A poorly done patch job to the side, but I figured that could be where the dog tried to pee on the snowman.  I didn’t tell her this, planning to hide the imperfections with paint.

image

Poor little top hat. Oh well.

image

Painted, cowboy hat painted with mod podge, then dipped in glitter, making the enormous mess you probably are imagining right now.

image

Drying beside the pancakes. 

image

Ribbon threaded thru the hook jammed in his poor little head, and wine glass and bottle attached using an enormous amount of gorilla glue.

image

Scarf made as ribbon found at 12:30 am, stuffy fabric stiffner applied and thankfully dried by 6 am today, so it could be delivered.

She loves it, so SUCCESS!

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

