Skip to content
November 12, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Frock coats? More like F this coat!

I love to sew.  Obviously.

What I hate, however, is math.  And planning.  And preparation.  But math is way wayyyy up at the top.  This throws a proverbial wrench in my sewing plans..ask anyone with real sewing talent, or a cabinet maker, or anyone who deals in measurements.

So, to make an incredibly long story short, I will speak thru pictures and short sentences, negating my need for over wordyness….

image

Found 1700’s esque pattern online.

image
Measured minimally and drew it out on paper for pattern
image

Cut out on ugly 70’s style fabric that I have yards upon yards of for sample coat before ruining fabric I paid assloads for

image
Pronounced myself genius, prematurely as I thought it would work.

image

Length was good..

image

Baste stitched it all together, as I like using fabric for patterns as opposed to paper because..I’m weird I guess.

People were skinnier in the back then or I really mismeasured, because I had to add a lot more to the back so it would fit.

This is where the photos end.

Because after sewing the 2 sides together and adding more fabric, it still wasn’t roomy enough for pirate type arm movements and was too tight in the shoulders and various other crap, so in true Camille fashion I pitched a fit and threw it in a pile on the floor and said, fuck this, I’m never sewing again, I am a failure and cried.

Did I mention I’m in a study for hormones and am on a pill that makes me emotional?

So I completely cheated, making Shane find a dress shirt that fit him properly, sneakily ripping all the seams out, and cutting a pattern from that.

image

I then baste stitched the old mock coat to the new pattern to keep the skirt like bottom, apparently the thing that makes a frock coat frocky.

image

And that is the end for now.

I worked on it some last night, but didn’t take any photos because then I would have to stop sewing and it takes a zillion years to sloppily baste stitch crap to other crap.

image

Also had to finish this thing..I had to trace all the sharpie black with actual black paint using that tee tiny brush.

Hopefully will have a happy and successful update tomorrow!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. nurulthecook / Nov 19 2012 5:32 pm

    You are a creative genius!! There has to be fuck ups along the way!! Otherwise you couldn’t be a creative genius!! You have my shoulder to cry on 🙂 Big Hug!!

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

