Skip to content
November 2, 2012 / mrsdeboots

So a crow walks into a bar..

I have no idea where I got that title from.

I was looking for a crow for my Scarlett O’ Hara hat, and of course I waited until the last possible second to get one.  And of course, there were none to be had.

So I improvised.  In a panic.  That could’ve killed at least me, if not Shane.  But not B.  Never ever B!  The fumes didn’t make it that far.

image

I cut a black mini skirt that I never had any intention of wearing into feather shapes.

Fraying!  Floppy!! Frack!!!

Stiffy fabric stiffner to the rescue!

image

Painted them with stiffy.  Realized they weren’t drying fast enough.

image

Safe?  Likely not.  I could never find any direct documentation on any dangers of baking polyester covered in fabric stiffiner on tin foil..but the fumes were noxious.

image

The fumes made me so nauseated, I got the iron out and cranked it up until the lights flickered, then crisped the fabric. 

image

To form what would appear to be the bird body, I looked for something that would tuck easily into the hat without having to actually be attached..a BRA CUP?  Of course!!

image

Cut off extraneous straps and whatnot.

image

Cover in black stiff fabric

image

And viola!

image

Excuse my recycling in the background pls.

image

The mess and the hand bruising that resulted from my anal retentive attention to feather details at 12am was astounding.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Then I just choked the bitch…bwahhaha

image

Ehhh…

image

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. nurulthecook / Nov 2 2012 5:11 am

    Just love your artistic creativity!

    • mrsdeboots / Nov 2 2012 10:56 am

      Thank you!!

  2. ooobop! / Nov 4 2012 8:00 am

    OMG! That is one amazing piece of millinery genius! I love it! 🙂

    • mrsdeboots / Nov 6 2012 4:42 am

      AHHHHHH!

      (that was a scream of glee)

      If you like it, my work is worth it. To have the love of ones hero…yay!!

  3. mynameisglenn / Nov 4 2012 10:18 pm

    wow!!! great!!

    lovely blog
    xoxo

    • mrsdeboots / Nov 6 2012 4:44 am

      Thank you! As my first real hat attempt..I was pretty impressed with myself. Not immensely so, but maybe suprised at how much better it turned out than I thought it would..does that even make sense?? Jeez I suck at talking. Anyway…thanks! Glad you like it 🙂

  4. NANCY / Nov 11 2012 4:43 am

    Love that you “baked” the feather pieces…that is soooo something that I would do! I love the costume!

    • mrsdeboots / Nov 12 2012 12:10 pm

      Thank you!

      I get quite manic over my projects sometimes, and this is just another fine example of manic in action 🙂

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

