Skip to content
October 30, 2012 / mrsdeboots

The drape dress..procrastination abounds

image

She’s almost finished. 

I have poured multiple hours on this dress, and am semi happy with its outward appearance.

My Mama Glad, my great grandma, the woman who taught me to sew, is more than likely only spinning halfway in her grave.  She taught me the inside should look as good as the outside..and the inside of this is..ugh..indescribable.

image

Sewing that drapery cord to the waist ruined my fingers.  I do actually look Luke I’ve been digging turnips with my bare hands.

image

The collar, made stiff with strips of matre board, got a little vampire, but I love dramatic, so I guess it adds.

image

I still have to sew up the armpits, and I have yet to find the bird for the hat.

image

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brandy Desiree Collins / Oct 31 2012 2:23 am

    If I had all the money in the world, I would spend it on this dress. All of it. Instantaneously. Without hesitation. Without regret.

    Brilliance, in thread.

    Your soul bears itself here. I see it, and I love it. Like a moth to a flame.

    I will spend the next thirty-seven days having lavish dreams about supercalifragilisticexpialidocious journeys me and this dress will take; followed swiftly by the tormenting experience of waking to find that the dress allowed itself into my dreams.

    Bittersweet. But way to go. You badass, you.

    • mrsdeboots / Oct 31 2012 11:13 am

      YOU are soooooo funny. And you make my day everytime I see your face anywhere in the vicinity of myself. You actually somehow make the sky blue and the sun rise..how do I love thee? Let me count the ways! Eleventy billion ways.
      And if I had no shame in the terrible sewing and shortcut type hot glue-ing action that went on.in the making of this thing, it would be in the mail tomorrow.

      You. Just YOU BRANDY… are the shizzzz

      • Brandy Desiree Collins / Nov 1 2012 2:25 pm

        Eleventy billion high fives, your majesty. I am not worthy! But I’ll gladly smile for the sake of feeling important somehow. 🙂 You’re awesome. Times five.

  2. nurulthecook / Nov 2 2012 12:39 am

    Beautiful, wonderful, fantastic and elegant!!! I miss reading your blog. Been so busy lately. Lotsa love:-)

    • mrsdeboots / Nov 2 2012 10:59 am

      You are too kind!! Thank you. It’s hard to be elegant when I am who I am, but I tried ha! I’m glad you had some time to come visit :). I know you’ve been a busy bee!

      • nurulthecook / Nov 7 2012 12:51 pm

        It’s not hard to be elegant or beautiful!! Beauty comes from the inside. This shines outside to everyone!! Elegance is something else. Not everything looks good on everyone. I used to have a clothes shop!

        You are definitely both-on the inside and out!! 🙂

  3. KungFuGirl / Nov 7 2012 7:13 pm

    I love this! I love that you took the time to re-create this! GWTW was one of my favorite books, and I love the resourcefulness Scarlett showed in creating a dress from drapes – & the resourcefulness you’ve shown in recreating it here. 🙂

    • mrsdeboots / Nov 9 2012 11:59 am

      Aww thanks! I would love to say a lot of blood, sweat, and tears went into it..but it was just blood and curse words! Ha! I love gone with the wind too..I was raised on it.

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes / Sep 28 2013 5:40 am

    You’re amazing. This dress is magnificent. Reminds me of how I used to love playing dress-ups, oh loved it.

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

