Skip to content
October 13, 2012 / mrsdeboots

I’ll worry about that tomorrow-making the drape dress.

I think we all remember our first hero, our first realization of, ‘This is who I want to be when I grow up!”

Mine was realized at age 5.  I wanted to be a beautiful spoiled southern belle.  I wanted to be conniving and flirtatious.  I wanted to use the lifting of an eyebrow as a weapon, an expression of both slight discontent and burning rage.

I wanted to be Scarlett O’Hara.

I have been watching 2 things since I was born.

The movie Gone with the Wind and the epic miniseries The Thornbirds

I blame both for my skewed views on love and relationships.

So this year, my dream comes true.  For Halloween, at work, I will be Scarlett.

image

The internet would lead one to believe that you can find an amazing Scarlett costume.

image

The internet is a LIAR.

For $260 I could purchase the above monstrosity. If I knew nothing about the dress, maybe I could be persuaded to wear that mess. But as I know lots, so blerg.

image

The above photo is the actual dress from the film.

As a notoriously hot natured person, I will not be trying to trapse around work in A velvet ball gown. I decided to look for a lightweight fabric in A similar color.

I found a green skirt and wrap/shawl thingy at a thrift store. Stupidly, I forgot to photograph it before I started ripping it apart.

image

image

Thank God for that dress form. I hate math, and I include rulers in math, so I try not to measure anything if I can help it. I placed all my darts by eyeballing things, basting, taking it off the form and placing it on myself for alterations, which, while tedious and painful (stick pins in the side, ow)

image

My process has been successful so far.

image
That poo $260 costume forgot an important element…one of the sleeves is huge, the other fitted. Stupid ass people.

image

So eat that!

I have the fitted sleeve prepared, but my sewing machine decided to be an asshole and start screwing up as I was hemming the wrist part.

So instead of working on my dress last night, I worked on my sewing machine.

Let me mention Shanes helpfulness, as he found all my drapery tassels at the bottom of a bin in A thrift store.

image

Oops my feet again.

He was digging like a rodent as I was making fun of these pants
image

They. Were. Enormous.

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

