Skip to content
September 18, 2012 / mrsdeboots

The Art of Extremes

Today was a very strange day.

That bring said, I did get to venture to the state surplus store, and sadly, I did not find the illusive card catalog that I desire.

I did, however, find these floppy disc organizers that look similar, and I got 2 3-drawer flat ones, and several other square ones that I didn’t really want or need, but the state surplus puts things in lots, so I paid $2 for them all. 

The bad thing was all the ugly emanating from the industrial colored plastic.

Here lately, ideas hit me pretty quick.  This is rare, so I embrace it and just go with it.

As soon as we got home, B had to nap, so I was awarded 2 hours to do nothing but execute my idea. 

image

I forgot to take an actual before picture before starting. Oopsie.

2 1/2 episodes of addicted, TLC’s copycat of the show Intervention, this is what I had done, speaking of copycats.

image

Van Gogh’s Starry Night has always been a favorite of mine, along with the rest of the world, so I decided not only to have function, but beauty also.

Then B woke up.

And the extremes start.

We did some coloring.  And when I say we I mean me, as B is a baby, and can only manage to scribble here and there before the temptation to eat crayons,becomes to difficult to resist.  I try and draw things to keep his interest.  Hence my, from memory, Yo Gabba Gabba characters.

I did well, except for Foofa, who I cannot really stand anyway.

image

image

Of course I also did some pumpkins, cause my most favorite holiday is right around the corner.

image

Before I knew it, it was bathtime, and then bedtime, so I switched back to serious art-tiest mode.  After I cleaned the disaster of the house.

I tried to take pictures as I was going, as I like to see my projects progress.  I was bound and determined I would finish it, and got quite manic about it. 

Making snide comments to myself while watching Sister Wives, I worked.

image

The changes are subtle at first, as I was doing pretty well documenting the progression of the sky.

image

image

image

image

And fin.

image

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. nurulthecook / Sep 20 2012 1:46 pm

    Love it! Great what you can do with something ugly looking with a bit of imagination and time!!

    • mrsdeboots / Sep 21 2012 10:14 am

      Aww! Thank you! And you’d be amazed what I can do it the kitchen..ohhh that was an enormous lie…I burn water. I once was told to get lettuce from the store, and was the joke of the house for months, as I brought home cabbage. While I can read, I was saw green leafy ball and went with it.

      • nurulthecook / Sep 21 2012 12:52 pm

        Hehe!! Oh well. At least you made many people smile with it:-)

  2. lizeccentric7 / Sep 21 2012 5:48 am

    Loved the photos of the drawings…too cute!

    Added you to my blogroll, with a link to this blog.

    🙂

    Love your cute and crafty posts!

    • mrsdeboots / Sep 21 2012 10:16 am

      Oh Liz, you are the best. If it wasn’t for you and your enormous brain, my blog would still be a huge mess.

      Your approval officially makes my day!! And thank you soooo much. I feel honored!

      • lizeccentric7 / Sep 21 2012 8:19 pm

        You are very welcome mrsdeboots!

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

