Skip to content
September 4, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Surprise Project-Car/Train table

My baby, B, is 18 (tomorrow 19) months old.  And he is obsessed with Hot Wheels.

Like, certifiably.

This presents a slight problem, as we have carpet everywhere but the bathrooms and kitchen, not two places I want him hanging out for long periods, as it hurts my ass to sit on the hard floor.

I wanted to get him a train table type thing, but as you can see, not only are they pricey, they take up an incredible amount of space.  He doesn’t have a playroom as his parents are selfish and are using the spare room as a studio, so we also needed something a little more compact.

So I had an old coffee table top that I used to cut fabric.  I hadn’t used it in a long time, it was basically being kept because we are hoarders..so I got an idea.  At about 1am Thursday morning.

image

Copying a photo of a train table I liked, I started painting with acrylic paint.

image

Thank God I am not responsible for lines in the road, maintaining continuity of road sizes, or parking lot spacing.  But this isn’t rocket science, so I didn’t measure it with a ruler, a subsent of both my laziness and hatred of math.

One of the best touches was Shane’s idea, adding a pond.  I added a dirt road and a pier.

image

image

After it was dry, I coated it with Mod Podge, as my child is a human wrecking ball.  This gave it a smoother surface and prevented him scraping the paint off.

image

And dry!  Please note..the photobombing bread on the left is not a real slice of bread.  It is a felt part from a Melissa and Doug sandwich set.  Realistic I know.

image

Finished product, minus the bread.

B loved it. 

image

image

He didn’t seem to mind the crappily spaced parking lot.

And yes, I know he has a pacifyer.  He’s getting his molars and is in pain.  So he could carry around a bottle of gin for all I care.  He hurts.

Anyway, I saved $100-ish dollars and I’m very happy with it.  It was super simple, and all I have to do when he’s finished with it is throw it in the closet! 

Perfect-o!

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

