Skip to content
August 31, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Where is the art?

One of my favorite, and I feel, most valid complaints, is that life constantly gets in the way of my art.  I started this blog primarily to show my art, bitch occasionally about things, and babble incessantly. 

Today is a mix of bitching and babbling.

List of things that get in the way of art production:

Sleep
While I require very little sleep compared to others, I have acquired a fairly large amount of sleep debt.  I usually fall into a coma like state at 1am, and arise between the hours of 5:30-5:45am.  I am 32 years old, and the unfortunate truth is I need to be getting more sleep. 

Sleep debt has a weird way of creeping up on you, and it did so last night.  B, my 18 month old, stays home with Shane.  They sleep until about 10-11am, so B stays up late compared to other toddlers.  I usually start reading him bedtime stories at 9-9:30 until about 10. 

Last night, much to my horror, I woke myself up talking nonsense while he held a book to my face.  Logic told me to wake the hell up before he destroys everything but my brain said sleep.  So in a 30 minute period, I probably was in a back and forth wake/sleep stage while attempting to read The Grouchy Ladybug.  Now I have that book completely memorized, so I can recite it with my eyes closed, and I think that’s where the problem started.  Needless to say, we both managed to survive, and I got him to bed at 10, and got myself in bed about a half hour later.

Housework
I moved about 2 months ago, and while the new house came with a dishwasher, it is a portable one.  So..its basically a huge block of useless, as no one explained how to use the damn thing or provided us with the hook up to attach it to the fanned faucet.  I have called the rental people several times to no avail.  So for the first time in years, my lazy ass is forced to hand wash dishes.  I hate dishes. And you would be shocked to discover how 2 1/2 people can produce soooo many f-ing dirty dishes.  I find it difficult to relax with a dirty kitchen, so before I do anything, I spend 30-45 minutes cleaning the stupid kitchen.

We also moved with no washer or dryer, and in my ignorance, I assumed a laundromat was not a big deal to use.  Wrong.  After 2 1/2 hours with a toddler and a month of dirty clothes washed, I was in a state clearly defined as a homicidal rage.  So, due to being broke, we bought a washer only, as washing clothes in the bathtub was breaking my back.  Results? 

image

Yeah.  My living room clothesline.  The house we live in, while basically in the heart of Raleigh, is surrounded by so many trees the sun does not find its way to my clothes, so I must hang them at night across the living room.  With limited space, I have to do one small load at night and hang them throughout the house like a freaking lunatic.

Time wasting activities
When tired, it’s difficult to drag various items out.  Sewing machines, glue guns, paint..ugh.  My studio area is in a disorganized state, and I have been unwilling to organize it.  With all the messes I have already been forced against my will to clean, I don’t feel like making another mess, only to have to clean it when I’m finished.  So I resort to sitting on my ass either in the bed or recliner, and watching Arrested Development, Breaking Bad, or some Behind the Music rip off on Netflix.

Or, I cruise the internet, cursing myself for not being wealthy enough to purchase everything available on urban outfitters games, toys, and fun s*** section.  Hell, everything in the apartment section in general.  I also enjoy the meta picture and ebay.  EBay I think, is applicable to my art at least, as I get the majority of my buttons and frames there.

Indecision

I start projects, and then decide I don’t like what I’ve decided for whatever reason, but this is only after I devote quite a bit of time to planning.  Such as Hemingway. 

image

I had spent quite a bit of time sewing in my reference squares, then realized I hated the material I had chosen to do it on.  I will do a seperate post on this later.  I don’t use any time of computer program to block out colors as some people do..not naming names..I feel like its a cheat. 

Also..
Work
Mommy/wife
Yard sales
Personal maintenance
Driving

The above cannot be helped but I feel are due no long explanations. 

But, with Monday off for Labor Day, I will attempt to reignite my art fire.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lizeccentric7 / Sep 3 2012 9:50 am

    Exactly, if only we had more time to do the things we love, but I have been trying to make one hour per day that is only for me, that’s been my goal now.

Trackbacks

  1. The old man..and the D « peepsew

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

