Skip to content
August 31, 2012 / mrsdeboots

The old man..and the D

Decision that is.

A while back, I posted about my planned Hemingway piece.  I asked people to vote, and realised I had the perfect frame in my possession already, so no need to cruise eBay.

image

Woot! 

image

So the photo that won in the voting pool was the last one.  This was lucky, as the frame is the correct size for a rectangular frame.

image

Sadly for me, I loved the life cover one, but it wouldn’t have worked for the intended frame. 

So planning begins.  I do not, as I mentioned in this post, use a computer program to plot my buttons. 

This does make me feel superior.  And I don’t care if its easier to do it that way. 

It’s cheating.

I very much respected Dusty from the next great artist on Bravo.  Still do.  But I admit, I was miffed and dissapointed to see that he used a computer to make his collages.  Still think he should have won though.  Moving on.

image

I divide my pictures using that sewing square thingy.  Why? Easier than a ruler.  I’m lazy in that regard.

image

With Frida, above, I plotted my grid with stick pins, which while easy, proved to be stupid.  The pins not only fall out, they injure you.  So I decided to baste stitch.

image

Not very pretty.  At all.  Crooked yes.  But it’s for reference. It doesn’t have to be exact. 

image

And perfect fit!  Yay!!

(2 weeks later)

Decide I hate fabric.  Too shiny.  Tacky.  Not respectful to my most favorite author.  He needs something manly but elegant.

I have, what I believe to be the perfect fabric at home.  Found it at a thrift store. 

Andddd I didn’t take a picture of it. 

Oops.

Will post it later, with an update, hopefully, indicating that the grid has been sewed in.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. lizeccentric7 / Sep 3 2012 9:46 am

    Cannot wait for the final product. How in the world do you think of these crafty ideas. If I could do these crafts would save me so much money – please add to this post the final product.
    Crafty and thrifty – two things I love!

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

