Skip to content
July 22, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Craft War causes internal struggle?

image

Go ahead and gaze upon that wonderment for a moment.

I am so beyond happy with this contraption I made of crap I already had!! Yay for hoarding!!

I have a bunch of these, in varying states of disrepair,  and have held on to 4 racks of them like a crazy person.  Although they do not hide the decaying remains of a cat, I find it disheartening that Shane, years of genetics, and this whole ‘crafting’ ‘upcycling’ bullshit, have turned me into a horder. 

And now, another loon on the internet  who thinks she’s McGyver because she turned a this into a that.

As you can see, I ripped some old 3 ring binders apart to make hanging devices.

I stole this idea from the show craft wars.  I have, well, had a very love/hate relationship with that show.  Now that we have moved, I no longer gave cable, much less entertainment on demand, so booooo.

I love that the show gives me ideas and I also love that Joanne Fabric has nothing to do with it,  because as always Joanne Fabric is the devil.  Tori Spelling is pregnant as always, and mildly tolerant.  Since seeing her as Violet on Saved by the Bell, I have always felt sorry for her, what with being so bug-eyed all of the time.

What I hate about it..is teams.  I despise teams. Why? Easy. I’m a control freak.  Also, I hate it because it reminds me that although more artistic than friends or family, I am not so special in my talents.

But these tools that I use frequently all have Velcro so I can put them down with ease! Take that craft wars!

image

The stuff is hanging on a puffy thing I made from the side of a cardboard box, leftover wrestling buddy stuffing, and an ugly yellow sock with seemingly no match.  That was covered in pink fabric and attached several ways to make it as ugly in the back as humanly possible.

The internal struggle comes in at the sewing store or Micheal’s or AC Moore (NOT JOANNE’S )..is this what I’m supposed to do with my spare time? When soooo many people are artists, shouldn’t I be taking up ballistics or engineering?

I enjoy doing crafts but I hate calling it that.  I feel like the person I described here and I hate hate feeling like that person.  Someone calls, wants to know what I’m doing. 
“Making some crap.”

Crap, by the way, is one of my least favorite words. I’d rather say shit, but I try to save my cursing for anger times.

Craft and Crap are very similar,  but I can’t bring myself to say, “Oh, I’m making a craft” or, “Oh, I’m just crafting.” Blerg. 

So if you give me a ring, things you may her are:

Making crap
Making some balloon string crap
Organizing all this crap
Sewing crap
Moving crap around

Sounds like a shit storm to me!!!!

image

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

