Skip to content
June 29, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Dolls you’d want to wrestle

I had this funny and what I considered original (at the time) idea to make wrestling buddy dolls that weren’t actually wrestlers, but people you may or may not have wanted to smack from time to time.
Like, send me a picture and I’ll make it that person.  Custom.

image

 

me and the doll, texting crystal on the dangers of photos with no make up.

I am working on 2 right now, and as soon as I get them finished and get Frida framed, I’m going to open my little etsy store.  My goal is to have them all finished by Sunday night, my realistic goal is by the 4th.

image

This was going to be my banner thing, but as you can plainly see it’s too dark on one side (thanks phone!) and since I don’t have an actual computer,  everything runs off mobile site and it’s incredibly difficult to do certain things.  Shane has offered me the use of one of his 85 computers, but it’s just so much easier to complain.

image

Shane has informed me that if I sell my dolls, I need to find a less time consuming process.  The above work is not complete, I still have to clean it up, so please don’t ew at me yet.

My problem is I love ribbon and hate felt.   You cut ribbon in a shape, it begins to fray almost immediately. 

When you stitch into the middle which I do, it actually disintegrates when you breathe.

This creates not only a mess, but a logistical nightmare.  I probably used that term incorrectly,  but I do not care, as that is how I feel about it.

Anyway, with anything,  like with Marilyn:

image

I like to figure out how I want it to look.  I didn’t want to computer diagram photos, or scan them into a program that blocked the colors out and made a pattern.  I wanted to squint, like Mr. Rosenfelter, possibly the best art teacher ever, taught us to do when we learned pop art.  I didn’t want to glue my buttons, I wanted to sew them.  It gives such a interesting feeling when you run your fingers over the different textures.  Besides, buttons are meant to be sewn.  That’s what those tiny holes are for.  I learned from all the mistakes I made with her, and Frida is better because of it.

So if, on the wildly unlikely event I sell anything, I believe it will be to a person like me. A person who enjoys craftsmanship,  attention to even the tiniest of detail, and appreciation of complications, those self imposed and not. 

Oh, but this person would have money.  Preferably lots.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ooobop! / Jun 29 2012 12:56 pm

    I love the idea of a wrestling doll! I made a full size mannequin for a childrens school play (Singing in the Rain). I can definitely vouch for how time consuming it is. But very satisfying all the same. I love your Marylin button portrait. And I truly admire your level of patience!

    • mrsdeboots / Jun 29 2012 5:29 pm

      Aww thanks! That is like the hugest compliment coming from you!!

      I love the concentration it takes. I can’t obsess over trivial matters. And it is extremely satisfying, you are correct.

      Thanks again!!!

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

