Skip to content
June 27, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Your 17 year old self

The weather in Raleigh the past two days has been ideal, and I’m one of those weirdos that gets memories from weather.  A particular look to the sky and feeling of the air can take me way back.

The weather today reminds me of September, and the combination of driving and listening to the Deftones takes me back to driving to cosmetology school when I was 17, eating my delicious lunch of atomic fireballs, wearing my God awful uniform of white scrubs, and thinking I was the hot poo, cause I had a sunroof and a loud stereo.

Ah, to be 17 again. Slight responsibility of high school, cosmetology school, and a part time job at Maxway.  My biggest concern was what color I could dye my hair (I was a pageant girl then, there were strict rules on hair color), and how fast I could hoard money for this bad ass prom dress I wanted. 
image

Prom was a BFD to me. The dress in question was the 3rd one. I was probably the first person in my small town to rock that type of dress. This was 1997, no big deal now, but the S then. Leland was incredibly backwards at that time (who knows now) and my ‘fashion’ was unheard of at this redneck school. Each year the dress had to be better. Once again, this was the 90’s. And my co-promers mostly resembled a group of poorly matched 80’s bridesmaids.

There were various high school dramas, like everyone probably had at this age, and they seem so unbelievably trivial now. Like how much I obsessed over prom. And how much MONEY I spent. My mom bought the 1st one, the red one, but after that I was on my own.
I wish I could warn 17 year old Camille of certain things, advise her against certain decisions.  Save money, stop buying dresses, instead fix your BRAKES (The badass car with the sunroof was totaled a month later, when, after ignoring several close calls, the brakes completly failed).  Finish cosmetology school.  Stop smoking before it becomes difficult to quit.  Ignore your dad, that whole thing will be over soon. You will get out of there. Go to make up school in Florida, who cares sfx make up is a male dominated industry?

You are 17 and Miss East Coast.  You are young and not completely tragic looking and skinny and tan.. STOP BEING SO HARD ON YOURSELF.  Except your eyebrows, do something with them.  You are in cosmetology school, I mean really. 

I could go on and on..but yawn.  Since pictures of art don’t take well, I’m posting nonsense.

I wonder if I would’ve listened to myself. I like to think I would, but I’m incredibly hard headed and stubborn, so I more than likely would have told myself to go F myself.

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

