Skip to content
June 18, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Creamsicle Cake and Collages.

For fathers day, I made possibly the yummiest thing I’ve ever made.  This isn’t saying much considering my horrible cooking skills, but honestly, this cake is delicious.

And I owe the recipe to a surgery patient.  She was making the cake for a family reunion, and was saying how simple it was, and for once I remembered something!

image

She said she didn’t ice her cake, and to me, that’s like, a huge problem, because the best part of cake is icing. To me at least.  So to turn her Sunkist cake into my creamsicle cake, I added cream cheese icing. And lots of it.

Anyway, you make the orange supreme cake pretty much as directed, except skip the water, adding instead 12 oz of Sunkist and a box of vanilla pudding mix.

You cook this in a bundt pan, something I had to go and buy, and feel threatned by, as the instructions stated you had to grease, then lightly flour. 

Lightly flour? Flour, a thing I hate dealing with as it makes an enormous mess..how does one lightly flour?  I accidentally lightly flour the counter, the floor, and myself when dealing with flour.  So that’s how I did it.  After spraying the pan liberally with stinky food lion brand baking pam, I flung flour
about, which formed a super smelly, bright yellow paste. 

At this point I became convinced that this cake would be a fail, and ceased to care.  Or at least I told myself that.

image

As it started looking and smelling fantastic, I started hoping that, when tipped over, the yellow paste would prevent sticking.

And viola!

image

Then, it cooled for 5 hours while we all went to watch Shane wrestle in beautiful Nashville, NC.  He has a large fan base there, which is fun to see.  But I was really ready to get home and eat cake.

So I got the poor sleep deprived baby to sleep, iced the cake, and ate it.  Yummmmmmm!

image

As I had low funds, I made Shane a notebook with a collage of all the pictures I had of Shane and B. Shane is always complaining about his lack of paper or a decent notebook, so I thought it made sense.

I made it at work because I had 116 tiny photos to cut out and arrange.  It’s weird to me the difference between what a woman likes and what a man likes.  Women at work oohed and ahhed about the idea, and the pictures, and how amazing it was.  Maybe this ruined my expectations, as Shane didn’t seem too blown away. 

image

image

I know he liked it, he said he did anyway, but after you hear 40 plus women squeal with delight, his response seemed…underwhelmed.

Oh well.  I tried.

I went to the scrap exchange in Durham today.  Talk about awesome. 

I got some more flesh colored fabric, so I can finally start over on my wrestling buddy! Yay!

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

