Skip to content
June 6, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Profound blerg

image

Because I am mad, and pouting, I decided to try and get my mind off my issues by making a cover for my kindle.  I had seen it previously in that repurposed library thingy, and it seemed to require the least amount of materials minus gluing the pages together, which seems tedious and stinky.

image

I picked this book cause…title.. ha ha! It’s masquerading as a book, when it isn’t!  As cleverness aside, it was the book I had closest to the kindle size.  I was supposed to measure it, and come up with at least _____ x ______ inches but that required planning, and I hate planning so I just skipped that step, hoping for the best.

Of course, the next step requires an exacto knife, something I know Shane has, but where it is…who knows.  So I chose this, out of the sharp objects to use, once again, hoping for the best.

image

It worked! I was amazed, and should’ve known.something was about to go wrong, as this step was far too easy.

image

Felt was called for to run down the binding, and the only piece I had was yellow, so nope! Skip!

image

Ribbon instead.  Moving on.  Covering thick cardboard with more felt.  Nope! Red polka dotted scarf I’ve had for years, you finally can be used for something! This was supposed to be measured and glued carefully…nope.  Not really.  Hence the sloppiness.

image

Then came the fun part.  Measuring and poking holes with scissors, then using a paperclip to lace thru holes.  No paperclip.  No measuring. 

image

Just a screw and the only ruler I’ve ever owned in my entire life.  For straight lines.  The first 2 were easy.  The second 2 took a good chunk of time to thread thru, and by then I just wanted to be done and my mind had wandered back to the original issue.

image

From this point, I completely disregarded the instructions and did what I wanted.  And viola!

image

image

So that took around 39 minutes.  I listened to David Sedaris audiobooks during most of that time, so it was time well spent.  But I’m still mad.

Thanks to these fine folks for providing a materials list and easy instructions, which I mostly ignored, but when needed were very helpful.

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

