Skip to content
May 31, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Body as a temple..aka its my damn uterus

There are very few issues I feel passionate enough about to do anything about. As an avid complainer, I have written many a complaint email regarding poor service and/or products, but politics is overwhelming to me, as are various social or economical issues.

My first distaste for any type of ‘activism’ was during the first Bush adminstration.  As an angry 8 year old, I wrote what I felt was a scathing letter to the president regarding the treatment of dolphins by the fishing industry.  I recieved a letter back, thanking me for my concerns, and an autographed photo of the president.  I marched in Raleigh for years for teachers rights, did science fair projects on animal testing and its inhumanity, and protested animal dissection in high school.  As a Rage Against the Machine fan, I protested the government and its many failures.  My favorite shirt pictured an upside down American flag that said simply, “The Star Spangled Lie”, a shirt that got me into trouble more than once, and was worn inside out multiple times because of the school cop and assistant principal at my redneck fascist high school. Nothing ever changed, except I got a ton of Saturday school. My parents weren’t treated right as educators, the veterans are still treated like shit, and the poor only get poorer. I guess the dolphins are better off, so that changed. Yay 8 year old me!

It’s easy, I think, to be idealistic as a child, and even as a young adult.  People constantly tell you that you can change the world.  Once you realize that you can’t, or you are too busy, you forget and give up. Or you just forget.

(Getting to the point soon..)

Womens reproductive health & rights is soooo beyond important to me.  My first job out of school was at a teen health clinic, and the things I saw and heard would curl your little toesies.

Girls should be taught about sex.  Girls should be taught about options.  When they are young enough to believe in themselves, that life shouldn’t revolve around their weight, or ability to secure a boyfriend.  That they shouldn’t feel guilty about what they feel, who they feel it about.  Birth control should be accessible.  That boys and men think differently and they have to protect themselves, first and foremost.  They should not be fed pure pro life propaganda bullshit. 

Taking money away from programs like planned parenthood because of self righteous religious claims is bullshit.  That program provides this country with an invaluable resource.  I could go on and on, but I’m attempting to get to the point. 

image

image

This is a duct tape cast of my torso from a few years ago.  I needed a dress form but couldn’t afford it, so Shane made one if me with duct tape and plastic sheeting.  It’s a little banged up and I’m about 15 pounds lighter now, so I was going to trash it.  But I didn’t. One, it took a long time and a lot of duct tape to make. Two, I’m too lazy to take it to the trash.

I was contacted recently about providing artwork for an auction to benefit a women’s health program and an idea came to me immediately, which is obviously a sign from God, as immediate ideas for me are rare. 

I was raised in a very religious household, I  was taught that your body is a temple, and you are made in Gods image.  So, I’m making a temple of sorts.

This torso will be covered in donated jewelry, from top to bottom, but featured in the design will be the female reproductive organs and breasts, straight from medical images.  I don’t have a 1/3 of the jewelry I need, so I was organizing and working on designs last night, as I can’t start the true design until I have everything. 

I finished the basic makings of the reproductive system last night and am very pleased:

image

There is much more to add obviously, but I am especially happy with the vaginal ridging:

image

I will put pink velvet behind it on the torso so it will stand out more, but the design is almost perfect, I think.

I am currently looking for avenues to get more donations of old or broken jewelry, nothing expensive or of any value.  If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.  If you are interested in donating, please email me:

camillederuisemua@gmail.com

Frida is pissing me off.  I fear I shall never be fully satisfied with her progress:

image

This looks weird also because it was on my leg in my bed, so her face is shifted.  Poor representation of a poor product.  I’m mad about her eyelid, which I could never get right in buttons, and after taking it out 20+ times, I feel I cheated and embroidered it in.

image

Oh well.

: )

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes / Mar 3 2013 3:42 am

    Great artwork, again – AGAIN!!

    I was particularly interested in reading about you in past moments – that Bush letter and so on. You’re interesting!!

    • mrsdeboots / Mar 3 2013 4:19 am

      Women’s rights have always been important to me. I’m about to do done work (interview type stuff, nothing arty and/or fun, just something to try and help this agenda to make girls and women in NC feel worse about their reproductive health.

      I’m a fairly interesting person, yep! I just am sooo not a good writer.

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

