Skip to content
May 18, 2012 / mrsdeboots

Crumb the Bum

Project 2:

My husband, Shane, is a man with innumerable talents.  Between commercial photography, fine art photography, audio, music video production, podcasting, video tutorials, and whatever else he decides that particular day to throw himself into, he has gone back to professional wrestling.

To understand Shane is to understand a true ar-tist.  In attitude and production value, not so much in personal presentation as he most closely resembles a pirate in a t- shirt and shorts.

So, as with any of his projects, he can think or talk of little else.  And me, playing the role of the supportive wife, am trying to be helpful.  Hence projects 2 and 2b.

Crumb the Bum Wrestling Buddy

image

All I recall about wrestling buddies is the boy that lived next door to me, who was 13 or 14 at the time, was found to sleep with a stuffed Hulk Hogan, and was teased mercilessly about this. 

I can pretty much make a pattern of any clothing item, but a bulky upper bodied stuffed late 80’s iconic toy, I felt, was out of my league.  So, doing what any normal person would do, I googled the pattern for it.  I found one, then found out later it missed key pieces like, um, the legs, but whatever.  I figured it out.
But I had thought, I can get one off of eBay, take the seams out and have a real pattern.

Unbeknownst to me, wrestling buddies, are to some people, the equivalent to a fine china gravy boat or a vintage designer bag.  I’m exaggerating slightly, but I’m not paying over $100 for what amounts to a damn stuffed animal.

Problem is, no fluff.  Currently, Crumb is filled with washcloths and ribbon and scraps from making him, so he’s lumpy and filled with pins, cause I can’t sew on details until he is stuffed.  Between work and baby and house chores, I forget to get fluff everytime we are out.  I have been tempted to steal some of Bresson’s seldom loved toys and cut the stuffing out, but I’m pretty sure that would make me the worst kind of asshole, and guarantee him a future spot on Intervention or Hoarders. 

image

image

I think the likeness is there.  He doesn’t wear the jacket to wrestle so I’m not killing myself to make a small denim jacket. 

Leave a Reply

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

vic briggs

A writer adrift

kittymctaco's Blog

Stuff and Things

Nostalgia Spoken Here

Remembering the past and trying to muddle through the present.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Kristah Price

A Creative Journey

Make Something Mondays!

"Keep your head open, something might fall in."

homecreationseveryday

Just another WordPress.com site

Schmerz...

A Place In The Dirt

OOAworld

Movie, Photos, Writing, Stories, Videos, Animation, Drawings, Art and Travel

WordsFallFromMyEyes

"Until this ghastly tale is told, this heart within me burns" (Coleridge)

Peacock Chic

Preening our feathers for fashion

M&J Blog

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

Project Palermo

Fixing Up a Chicago Bungalow

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

